Menu
Home Page
Welcome to St. Mary's C.E. Middle School. Latest - New guidelines on what to do if your child is ill have been added to the COVID-19 pages.

Welcome to St Mary's C.E. Middle School

Thank you for visiting the website for St. Mary's C.E. Middle School. We are a 9-13 middle school situated on the outskirts of Puddletown, a small village in the beautiful Dorset countryside. We are a church school with an ethos built on the core Christian values of respect, forgiveness, justice, uniqueness, equality, acceptance and kindness.

We look to inspire our school community and give them the tools to thrive in the modern world, summed up by our school aim of 'Inspire today to shape tomorrow'. We are proud to have been assessed as an outstanding church school in our last two Church of England inspections. We expect the highest standards in both academic work and behaviour and we place our children at the centre of everything we do.

The pupils, staff and governors are very proud of our school and we hope that this website will allow you to see why. We look forward to having the opportunity to meet you in person.

Theme of the Week

Each week we have a theme which forms the basis of our Collective Worship for that week.  Our seven core Christian values are included in our themes for the week, explicitly or implicitly, for two weeks during each school year.  Other themes relate to important times within the Church calendar (e.g. Lent, Advent, Harvest etc.) and other values that we feel are important to explore with our pupils.  The themes for the academic year 2020/2021 are shown below.
Week beginning Theme for the Week
Monday 31st August 2020 Creation
Monday 7th Septemeber 2020 Empathy
Monday 14th September 2020 Fall
Monday 21st September 2020 Action
Monday 28th September 2020 Celebration
Monday 5th October 2020 Environment
Monday 12th October 2020 Unique Ideas: Dream/Imagine
Half Term  
Monday 2nd November 2020 Tolerance and Mutual Respect
Monday 9th November 2020 Remembrance
Monday 16th November 2020 People of God
Monday 23rd November 2020 Incarnation
Monday 30th November 2020 Connection
Monday 7th December 2020 Individual Liberty
Monday 14th December 2020 Christmas
Christmas Holiday  
Monday 4th January 2021 Journeys
Monday 11th January 2021 Growth Mindset
Monday 18th January 2021 Gospel
Monday 25th January 2021 Compassion
Monday 1st February 2021 Courage
Monday 8th February 2021 Reflection
Half Term  
Monday 22nd February 2021 Equality and Equity
Monday 1st March 2021 Wonder
Monday 8th March 2021 Leadership
Monday 15th March 2021 Happiness
Monday 22nd March 2021 Prayer
Monday 29th March 2021 Salvation
Easter Holiday  
Monday 19th April 2021 Stewardship
Monday 26th April 2021 Forgiveness
Monday 3rd May 2021 Kingdom of God
Monday 10th May 2021 Resilience
Monday 17th May 2021 Kindness
Monday 24th May 2021 Prudence - thinking before acting
Half Term  
Monday 7th June 2021 Responsibility
Monday 14th June 2021 Justice
Monday 21st June 2021 Mindfullness
Monday 28th June 2021 Fairness
Monday 5th July 2021 Acceptance
Monday 12th July 2021 Using your voice
Monday 19th July 2021 Taking Part

 

We've had 1 1 7 7 5 8 visitors

Translate

Top